Removing Bathroom Ceiling Wallpaper

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All,

I am a novice in this project and have never done any wallpaper stripping and painting so would truly appreciate your all experienced inputs..!!

Pls look at the attached photos of the wallpaper in the bathroom. It has cracked from one corner and due to lack of proper ventilation has developed mould on it. I want to take this ceiling paper off and paint it with some water/ mould proof paint that will prevent future mould. I have now got a extractor fan installed so hopefully I will have better ventilation in future, but at present this wallpaper is buggered. This is a 70s made flat and I am told that the ceiling is concrete slab.

Can someone please tell me the best way to remove this wallpaper safely and what type of filler and paint should I use later to complete the job..!!

Thanks for your comments in advance and pls do ask if you need any more details which I might have missed..!!

Link to pics:

//www.diynot.com/network/SIDD/albums/

Sponsored Links
Thats not wallpaper its artex.

Two options really

1. Try and scrape it off ( a wallpaper steamer softens it)

2. Scrape off the loose stuff and have a plasterer skim it

The concrete slab needs priming with a watered down coat of emulsion 70% paint to 30% water. Then fill with a ready mixed filler, i use toupret but you could use polycell or red devil. Rub down and prime the filler with the same watered down paint you did the sealer coat with. As a finish coat if you're worried about mould you could go with zinnser permawhite.

Thats not wallpaper its artex.

Two options really

1. Try and scrape it off ( a wallpaper steamer softens it)

2. Scrape off the loose stuff and have a plasterer skim it