Renting a van to clear a house several hundred miles

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to get my late mum's house cleared, we're at opposite ends of the country from it and want a relatively small proportion of the contents, the rest will get house-cleared separately. A mate is happy to do the driving as we don't want to, for a reasonable fee - either down on the train and driving back, or driving both ways as various logistics dictate (availability, cost).

What I can't figure out is what size van to get. We're choosing between "extra large van" and Luton Van, the former may vary slightly so I don't know if it would be an XLWB extra high, or what... but a 4m van basically. I have no experience with just how much can be stored. Our plan is to fill the van with the things we prioritise, then continue with things we have some use for until it's full, then leave the rest behind for a house-clearance.

What I'm expecting us to have:
  • 2 quite large, traditional 3-piece suites
  • 1 70's sideboard
  • 1 quite large glass-fronted cabinet (like you'd put crystal glasses in top, with a sideboard underneath)
  • A 6-seater dining table + chairs
  • A harmonium (sort of like an organ, maybe 1/2 size of a piano)
  • A chaise lounge and a couple of old dining type chairs
  • A long coffee table
  • 3-4 of small wooden cabinets/shelves/tables
  • A petrol rotary push-mower
  • A bunch of boxes of books, ornaments, paintings, glasses, crockery
  • 2-3 light fittings
  • Some misc garden tools
It's by no means a whole house-full of stuff... no beds, wardrobes, most shelves and tables not being taken, lots of books remaining. Basically the nicer things or with sentimental value.
The main plus of a luton for me is the possibility the sofas would go in sideways but I don't know if they would.