Blades for cutting worktop, jigsaw and skillsaw, table saw

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
First post. Thanks for the forum its been a great read. I am (or more appropriately my girlfriends father is) fitting our kitchen. He is not qualified fitter but has done a couple and is a joiner by trade. We're just about to buy the bits for fitting and wanted recommendation for bits and bldaes. We have at our disposal, table saw, 1/4 inch collet router, jigsaw and skill saw. I've seen the Bosch t10brf recommended for jigsaw blade- is this still the best option for cutting despite the one poor review on screwfix?

Does anyone have any other recommendations for the blade/bit to use for each

1) table saw
2) 1/4 inch router
3) jigsaw
4) skill saw

Ideally we want to avoid using the table saw because the blades are so expensive. The current blade is good for stuff not to be seen, we have used in to cut down cabinets but not the the worktop.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. One of our local tool shops suggested Freud Pro blades would be good option which I am looking at now.

Or does blade choice not matter too much if go for correct type from well respected brand?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
if he's a joiner surely he should know all about different blades and what not but anyway,

skill saw and table saw, the more teeth the finner the cut will be so ideally you want a 60+ tooth tct blade

jig saw you would need a down cutting blade for work tops or you can use any wood blade just cut the work top with the good face down

router can you change the collet to accept a bigger cutter? you need a good straight cutting bit with a work top jig to cut any joints