Replaced a switch for a dimmer switch now lights don't work

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, I am a newbie on this site and I am looking for some advice please.

I have been gradually replacing my normal light switches to dimmer switches as I do the house up. However, yesterday I encountered a problem. I replaced the normal switch with another dimmer as I have always done and it didn't work, so I rewired the original switch and now that also doesn't work and to make matters worst now all the downstairs lights don't work

To make things a little clearer, I have 3 wires 1 red 1 black and 1 earth

On the dimmer switch there is a section for Live, S,Lead and of course the earth.

On the original switch there is L1, L2 and L3. and again the earth

I have a trip box with breakers and when I switch it on the breaker doesn't trip but none of my downstairs lights work? however, all the rest of the lights in the house function properly.

What on earth could be the problem I am stumped?

I am in Southampton

Sponsored Links
And you've done nothing at any light fittings, only at the switches?

Is it a normal lamp in this fitting, or a low-energy one? Generally they can't be dimmed, so putting a dimmer on might knacker the lamp and/or the dimmer, but it's not possible to knock out an entire circuit by fiddling with just one simple switch drop unless you've created a live-earth short, so the faults may be unrelated.

Did the MCB trip at any time?

When you switch it on does it feel the same as the others?

Have you closely examined the cables where they enter the switch back box to see if they are damaged?

If you remove the switch cable from the light it's connected to does the circuit then work?