1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing a 2 gang light switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Bill Chapman, 27 Dec 2019.

  1. Bill Chapman

    Bill Chapman

    Joined:
    27 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there...before I burn my house down, could someone please tell me how to wire my new switch bearing in mind what I have in my old switch. I have two lights in my bedroom that I want to WIFI up and this is the wiring from them (one of the lights is also controlled by another switch upstairs but, I don't care about that). Any advice gratefully received.

    Thanks,

    Bill


    LtUOwqsvRz6bux8Br+mjtw.jpg s9MmC7rFScuTu637zGH38g.jpg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    30,622
    Thanks Received:
    3,310
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Unless there are more wires in the back box, you do not have a Neutral, therefore you cannot use the new switch.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Bill Chapman

    Bill Chapman

    Joined:
    27 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK...hmmm....so what do I need to buy (any ideas) ? I assumed buying a two gang switch would be the same regardless but I am clearly wrong.
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    5,373
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The one you have bought looks like a forgery as the CE mark is incorrect (false).

    Another problem is we don't know if the two lights in your bedroom are fed from the same circuit. You or an electrician needs to verify this before we can advise further. Also depending on the way the right hand 2 way circuit is wired you might not have a permanent live at that switch.
     
  6. Bill Chapman

    Bill Chapman

    Joined:
    27 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm....thanks everyone...this all sounds to be fun. OK, so I have located a smart switch that doesn't require a neutral. Would I be correct in thinking this will be easier (rather than running a neutral from the light which will involve way too much work) ? The two lights in the bedroom are controlled from the same trip if this helps.
     
  7. Bill Chapman

    Bill Chapman

    Joined:
    27 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ahhh...I think I get it now....basically, I am screwed....unless I can find a 2 gang 2 way that doesn't require a neutral (whic only seem to be available from Hong Kong)...it's going to need a neutral running from it.
     
  8. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,768
    Thanks Received:
    1,880
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup. Not so easy this so-called smart technology.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page