Replacing back boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Glow Worm Majorca 2 back boiler has just reached its 30th birthday and is a credit to the Company and the tried and proven cast iron boiler.
However spares are unlikely and only recently was lucky enough to have a mate retired who had some radiants in his garage.
I was a Plumber for 20 years before going into management and designing mainly Industrial type heating systems both steam and oil.
Have been retired for 10 years so am out of touch with current regulations and practise, but have heard that back boilers are discouraged and a Plumber was telling me they have to use a points system before they install, to ascertain if this can be done.
Have searched the internet and found the site which shows the forms etc but also find I can still buy a Baxi back boiler/gas fire easily.
Would you advise on the situation as I have no intention of replacing with other than a back boiler for several reasons.
Would one of you experts give me the facts on fitting a new one and could a Plumber refuse to install this type.
Does it mean I would have to get my tools out and fit it myself?. Hope not…
Thanks for any advice in this particular area.

Sponsored Links
Wemyss,

I'm not a plumber, but the regulations require you to fit a condensing boiler apart from in exceptional circumstances.

The assessment of what is meant by exceptional is done via a points system.