Replacing danfoss with hive

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I would like to replace my Danfoss (not sure if TP4000 or TP5000) with a smart thermostat and I was thinking of going with Hive (mini single channel) as I need a battery powered one.

There are just 2 wires of my Danfoss, one that connect to com and one to on. (None of them is a permanent live, I checked with a multimeter)

I have a combi boiler and the thermostat controls just the heating

Would a hive thermostat be compatible with it?
Would it be enough just to wire the 2 wires to com and on like to like?

I'm not an expert, so I hope I was clear enough!

Attachments

• IMG_20230601_164517.png
    IMG_20230601_164517.png
    383.2 KB · Views: 79
  • IMG_20230303_140644.jpg
    IMG_20230303_140644.jpg
    132.8 KB · Views: 86
Sponsored Links
The only wireless base for a thermostat as far as I know is the Nest e, all others need mains to the base, but remote control may be battery powered.

It is frowned upon to power a base with mains not supplied by the boiler, I personally see no problem with volt free contacts, but the Drayton wiser and Hive have multi versions of their thermostats which all fit the same base, single, double and triple channel and only the single channel is volt free, so easy in future to make an error, so can see why most boiler manufacturers say all must be on the same circuit.

There are two basic types of thermostat, on/off and analogue, you may want to see if your boiler can use the analogue thermostat first, they are better, Hive does not have analogue option, also some thermostat will link to the TRV heads, Nest does not, and Hive will only work if the thermostat is under 22ºC.

The geofencing also varies, with Nest the only control is the Eco and Comfort temperatures, you can't set the distance, it seems with some you can set distance from home when the heating comes on.