1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing electric oven

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by kieranDIY, 2 Apr 2012.

  1. kieranDIY

    kieranDIY

    Joined:
    2 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I know there are plenty of posts already on this same topic, but I cannot seem to find a post that has the exact same situation as mine, so I am seeking advice.

    My exact situation is that I have just moved into a house and we want to replace the built-in under-counter oven with a new oven. The old oven is just plugged into a standard plug socket in the wall hidden underneath the worktop (we know this because we have unscrewed the screws on the front of the old oven and pulled it out). The new oven (we have not bought yet) states that it is able to be plugged into a standard 13amp socket.

    If it really is as simple as unplugging the old oven and plugging in the new one, then I really want to avoid paying Comet £85, but am I likely to be missing something? Is it really as simple as that?

    This is the new oven: http://www.comet.co.uk/p/Electric-B...NT-SH51X-Electric-Built-in-Single-Oven/663115

    Many thanks for anyone's advice.

    Best
    Kieran
     
  2. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,097
    Thanks Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, it is.
    You will need to put the screws in to secure the oven in place, but electrically, it just plugs in where the old one did.
     
  3. kieranDIY

    kieranDIY

    Joined:
    2 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks so much Flameport. It's scary to think we could have paid £85 for them to have just done that for us!

    K
     
  4. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    14,004
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At 2250 - 2400W yes it can run from 13A plug. The manual from Hotpoint does show how the wires are connected into the oven with a little diagram.

    It states 16A fuse but that is because it's a preferred size it should run from a 13A fuse with no problem.

    If your worried read the manual shows a picture of connections.
     
  5. kieranDIY

    kieranDIY

    Joined:
    2 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks ericmark.
     
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page