Replacing floor joists, questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm in the middle of replacing some joists, I have a span of about 7 metres with 4 sleeper walls in between, the joists are in 2 sets, 10@2m and 10@ 5m long x75x150mm

all the walls have had new plates bedded in and are pretty level

my problem is that a couple of the joists have about a 10mm bow in them, I've turned them so the high point is in the middle but what I'd like to do is to pull them down onto the plates now rather than stick the flooring down and let nature take its course

any advice on the best way to achieve this?

p.s. I'm a novice so be gentle!

Sponsored Links
thanks

I did try to squash them down but I couldn't manage it , I think I'd need about 3 people to get them down heh , they're pretty strong bits of wood

besides that I also thought of using some brackets but I fear the plates might just lift up rather than pull the joist down

I wonder if I could attach a bracket to the masonry flush with the plate then screw into the underside of the joist and pull it down

Sponsored Links
Dont worry about it, they will settle down onto the sleeper walls in due course.
All floorjoists have some degree of bend in them thats why you always put them round side up.
What would you do if the joists were at first floor level?

I'm in the middle of replacing some joists, I have a span of about 7 metres with 4 sleeper walls in between, the joists are in 2 sets, 10@2m and 10@ 5m long x75x150mm

all the walls have had new plates bedded in and are pretty level

my problem is that a couple of the joists have about a 10mm bow in them, I've turned them so the high point is in the middle but what I'd like to do is to pull them down onto the plates now rather than stick the flooring down and let nature take its course

any advice on the best way to achieve this?

p.s. I'm a novice so be gentle!