Replacing Halogens with LED alternatives

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have 9 x 50w 12v halogens in my place and wondered about the possibility of replacing them with a more energy efficient LED version.

Here are the lamps. I currently use http://www.toolstation.com/shop/Lig...en+Lamp+MR16+50w+10+8000cd/d220/sd3278/p17461

First question is will an LED alternative be as bright as these? I've tried the lower wattage in the kitchen in the past and frankly it's awful and not light enough.

Secondly the LED seem bloody expensive at around £20 a pop here. http://www.energybulbs.co.uk/led+light+bulbs/mr16+led+bulbs/high+output+mr16+leds

Is this right or am I looking in the wrong place?

I'm a total beginner on all electrics so apologies if any of that is blindingly obvious

Sponsored Links
You need to be looking for about 7 to 8 watts to replicate the brightness of a 50W halogen lamp.

£20 is maybe a little on the high side, but not too far off the mark. Remember, they will pay for them selves in saved energy and saved relamping costs, and buy cheap, buy twice.

You want to be looking for lamps which consist of maybe 3 LED light sources. Stay away from lamps whit 20 or so little LEDs.

I always recommend warm white LEDs, as they are the closest light to normal lightbulbs.

You may find that LEDs won't work with your existing transformers. If this is the case, you'll need to replace them with dedicated LED drivers, or better still, reconfigure the fittings to be mains powered, and buy mains powered lamps which don't require a seperate driver.

I agree with RF, don't go for the dirt cheap option.

In our kitchen we have 2 light fittings, each with 4 GU10 lamps. Not my choice but that's what the kitchen designer (i.e the wife) landed home with.