Replacing Laminate Flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Would welcome any thoughts on the below. Other than laying down some sticky vinyl panels on a floor over some underlay tiles I have no experience in things flooring but here goes...

A while ago I had an issue where a broken dishwasher meant water ran through under the floor of the kitchen and the adjacent living room. The underlay was (still is) wet, but the water does not come up through the floorboards. You can see in the pic however that the damp has had an effect. Occasionally I can still hear it 'squelch' under my feet.

I'd appreciate suggestions on the best way to progress. Maybe not clear from the pic, but the rest of the living room is fine so even if the expense wasn't an issue, I'd want to avoid the effort of moving all the furniture out while all the floorboards were replaced..

i) Ideally, Id purchase the same sort of flooring (I'm hoping it is 'standard') and then ONLY remove the faulty ones. Watching you tube videos, these interlocking laminate tiles should hopefully not be too difficult to install. I've already got some new underlay ready as well.

ii) Is there any chance of lifting up just one/two panels and let the air (I also have a dehumidifer) dry things out. Have I got any chance of replacing the original floorboards afterwards ? -after scraping any 'gunk' off first.

iii) If I use new underlay or a chipboard base (6mm) is it worth trying vinyl (sticky) boards. These seem easier to install, and a fair bit cheaper to replace should things go wrong...

But before going further - reckon the first thing is to dry out the underlay under the flooboards. Is there a 'correct' way to take these floorboards up. Do I need a specific tool ? Appreciate it sounds like I'm being hyper cautious but...

Thanks
Leon

Attachments

• floor2.jpg
    floor2.jpg
    187.7 KB · Views: 271
  • floor.jpg
    floor.jpg
    116.2 KB · Views: 257
Last edited:
Sponsored Links