1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing Salus rt300rf with google nest e

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Bevis Hungate, 15 Jan 2021.

  1. Bevis Hungate

    Bevis Hungate

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im replacing our Salus rt300rfwith a google nest e and wanted to triple check the wiring. I've attached a photo of my salus' wiring. I think Im right in saying that it should be as follows:

    COM (grey) to: Nest Heatlink (2) Heating common
    NO (black) to: Nest Heatlink (3) Heating call for heat
    N (blue x 2) to: N
    L (brown x 2) to: L

    Thanks!
    Bevis
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,951
    Thanks Received:
    1,849
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought the Nest e was battery powered? If so you only need com and NO.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,834
    Thanks Received:
    8,565
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As @Chris_W correctly says Nest E is battery powered and doesnt use the L&N do you actually mean Nest 3rd Gen ? they are not the same
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Bevis Hungate

    Bevis Hungate

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys. No it's definitely a Nest E. There's a switch next to the boiler which appears to power both the boiler and the receiver, so one of each of these presumably is the boiler's and the others are for the receiver. I think I'd best get someone in.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,834
    Thanks Received:
    8,565
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no need couldnt be easier, NO and COM from existing to the same on the nest E, either remove or safely isolate everything else , not hard to do
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Bevis Hungate

    Bevis Hungate

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I actually went ahead and tried but now I'm not getting any power to the boiler. I've home emergency cover and someone's coming round, but wonder if there's an easy solution 've missed.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,951
    Thanks Received:
    1,849
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wonder if they powered the boiler via the receiver? A bit odd, but would work and possibly explain your situation. Either that or blow a fuse.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,834
    Thanks Received:
    8,565
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    post pics of what you have done
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Bevis Hungate

    Bevis Hungate

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've actually put it back the way it was now, and still no power to the boiler. I wish I'd taken pics first. I did as is described above though. It does look as though the boiler is powered via the receiver.
     
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,834
    Thanks Received:
    8,565
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is exactly what has happened, you need to join the two blue wires in one terminal strip and the two brown wires in another then the boiler will power up
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  13. Bevis Hungate

    Bevis Hungate

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good to know, thanks very much Ian.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page