Restoring Old Floorboards - Advice Needed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi...

We recently pulled up an old carpet in our bedroom and revealed some floorboards in average condition (not being an expert, I'm guessing here). The problem is that some of the floorboards don't actually meet the wall of the room at the base of the skirting board - they are out about 1/2 an inch - and that's most of them. I am wondering what to do about this...is it worth sanding and revarnishing or would it be best to just cover up again with new carpet? Is this where we call a professional? Other than that problem the boards seem to be in good order and I think would respond well to sanding and re-varnishing.

Can anyone offer advice please?

Thanks
Sara :?: :confused: :?:

Sponsored Links
You could conceal a gap between the floor and the skirting using quadrant beading (quarter-round wood).

However, sanding and sealing bare boards has lots of disadvantages: draughts through the cracks; noise (and for your neighbours, unless you're in a detached house). I'd hoped the craze for doing this would have passed by now.

I'd carpet it. No need to carpet under the bed if it's not going to be moved around: potential for saving money, especially if it's a large bed.

You could conceal a gap between the floor and the skirting using quadrant beading (quarter-round wood).

However, sanding and sealing bare boards has lots of disadvantages: draughts through the cracks; noise (and for your neighbours, unless you're in a detached house). I'd hoped the craze for doing this would have passed by now.

I'd carpet it. No need to carpet under the bed if it's not going to be moved around: potential for saving money, especially if it's a large bed.

Am i missing something, but dont you but carpet buy the width of the roll? I.e if your room is 13 x 13 youd have to buy 13ft of carpet? no matter how big the bed is? Whats the point in capeting if you leave drafty floorboards?