revitalising stained suspended ceiling tiles

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Plumber by trade so forgive my ignorance :oops: All advice very much appreciated.
The missus is a kitchen manager and has been sent away to troubleshoot on a problem regarding a commercial kitchen that has an upcoming H&S inspection. The kitchen is 20+ years old. The general food prep, storage, cleaning areas are all up to standard re basics food hygeine, the staff are all well trained and up to date... the kitchen got 5* on last inspection BUT...
The age of the place means that although safe and well managed it is looking very old, tired and in dire need of sprucing up. The only sticking point on the project that I am having trouble with is this.

The ceiling tiles are 4x2" very old tired and stained although ostensibly clean and free of any bacterial infestation/contamination. But they look reet grubby! They are made up of what loks like heavy, dense foam covered with a thin vinyl layer on the visible side. The smooth finish type not the flimsy foam rough finish.

The ceiling is made up of a suspended aluminium framed laticework spaced at 4 x 2. It incorporates the usual .... 4 foot tube ligths fixed thru the laticework... 2 ft sq air vents etc. Behind the tiles/framework is a plethora of ducting, cables and rockwool insulation. So, consequently, its a right B^%$£R to get the darned things down without creating a god awfull dusty mess in the process and there's only a 2 hour window between the place opening up and the staff arriving to prep before opening up to the public.

This is my suggestion... all comments... alternatives greatly appreciated.
Instead of struggling to get the tiles down I thought of wedging them, up ever so slightly, and painting them in situ. Leaving the paint to dry off before relocating the wedges and cutting in the areas missed by the wedges.