Ring Continuity Test

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I know this stuff can get very technical, very quickly. Please go gentle as I am relatively new to this.

I am looking to spur from a socket on a Ring and want to check for continuity at this socket before I add the spur.

I am getting the following readings at this socket with my Megger:

R1 0.67
Rn 0.67
R2 0.78

It is using a 2.5mm T&E solid cable. I was expecting the R2 reading to be 1.67 times R1/Rn.

Given that this is lower, what could be causing this? Are there any simple checks I can perform? And does it really matter?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
I am getting the following readings at this socket with my Megger:
R1 0.67
Rn 0.67
R2 0.78
Where and how are you getting those measurements? What was 'disconnected'?
It is using a 2.5mm T&E solid cable. I was expecting the R2 reading to be 1.67 times R1/Rn.
One would think so, but if you went by the BS7671 ('voltage drop') figures, the ratio of resistance of 2.5mm² and 1.5mm² conductors is 29/18 = 1.61 -albeit not far from 1.67,and certainly much higher a ratio than you are seeing (about 1.16).
Given that this is lower, what could be causing this? Are there any simple checks I can perform? And does it really matter?
There could possibly be conductive paths in parallel with parts of the CPC - e.g. if there were metal conduit joining two or more backboxes which were 'earthed' to the circuit's CPC, or if the circuit was connected to anything whose 'earth' was in electrical continuity with metal pipework. Do I take it that there's no 'supplementary bonding' or any other connections to the CPC of the circuit that you are aware of?

Kind Regards, John