Ring main measures 600R

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Trying to identify a ring main before extending it to fit new sockets in a bedroom. Found what looks like a ring main as it has two cables going to one socket, however when I measure across the two brown wires that I have disconnected from the socket, I get 600 ohms instead of a short. I removed the tails from the consumer unit and have 600 ohms there too (with the socket reconnected).

Am I right to think something is loose or completly disconnected somewhere on this ring and not completing the return circuit properly?

I have had a new consumer fitted recently and the RCD would trip several times a day even with nothing plugged in. The tails have been moved to the non- RCD side of the CU for now.

Is the 600R reading and the RCD trips a related fault?

Sponsored Links
No good

What is the Rn?

Sorry typing with baby on lap

Martin

Is the Rn something I can check with a Fluke DVM? Sorry, I am not an electrician, but I am guessing you want a measurement of the neutral ring? If so, do I need to unplug everything as it means pulling out a 100kilo washing machine to reach the socket behind!

Let me get this straight - you've had a new CU fitted and the existing wiring or the CU installation is not up to scratch.

Question, why haven't you got the electrician back in? Surely the tests done at that point would have indicated what wiring problems existed... you do have the test results dont you?

Your RCDs trip, solution - bypass them. Who did that?

You now want to extend your already faulty and possibly dangerous wiring.

Don't you think maybe fixing whatever problems exist would be the first step?

Sponsored Links
Hi Brackers.

You have tested the end to end resistance of the live conductor (r1). If you test the end to end resistance of the neutral conductors (rn) what reading do you get?