Roof without Roof Ties

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

A friend of mine has had an extension built. It is a wooden dormer type extension and he called me round to take a look at what has been done before he pays the final bill. I am not a professional builder but know a fair bit of DIY and have built extensions myself on my own houses. One thing that really concerned me was the roof of the extension does not have Roof Ties and basically the Rafters are just nailed into the Stud Work without any cross supports or Roof Ties - a bit like a vaulted roof. Can anyone confirm that all roofs should have rafter ties to stop the roof putting outward pressure on the walls before I tell him to bring this up as an issue?

Sponsored Links
I'm not a roofer/builder but I'm having my loft converted at the moment. About 12" down from the top of the roof , there are short crossmembers, about 15"-18", (maybe slightly longer, which tie in the rafters from both sides. At floor level there are joists tying them together where they meet tying them together at the lowest point. These lower ones are also the supports for the ground floor ceilings, (it's a bungalow by the way). They also have diagonal ties running from the bottom corners across the rafters to the central point on each side to prevent sideways movement.
They also have short supports, (about 3'-6"), about 4' in from the eaves, attached to every rafter and floor joist.
Hope this helps.