Roofing trade advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, first post.

Im not a roofer by trade and dont claim to know much about roofing. My trade is certainly different.

I got a local 'roofer' to fix 2x water leaks, (repair on the ridge). I paid him 450 to relay and repoint the ridge tiles, to which he said would fix the 2x water ingres.

The 2x leaks were still coming through so i called him back. He came into the loft space, and found that the leaks were coming through 2 seperate now unused gas vents in the ridge.

He said that we should just get rid of the vent gas ridges as they weren't being used anymore. There was also a soil stack vent but i moved this from the ridge and stuck on a vent within the loft space.

He quoted £650 to remove the vent ridge tiles, and i payed him.

He sub contracted this to one of his friends, and the friend who was also a roofer started doing the work.

When he was halfway through the job, he aired his concerns to me that by removing the vent ridge tiles, that this would trap condensation within the loft space.

I was worried about this when he told me, and asked if anything could be done about he mentioned the possibility of vent tiles or vent bricks to be installed instead. I asked him if he could fit anything but didnt have time to.

I went up onto the roof to see the work that he had done, and where he had taken the ridge off again, he broke some tiles, he replaced them with tiles that wernt the same without saying a word of that to me. The tiles didn't sit right and were raised high with muck underneath them. It looked really messy.

I phoned back and voiced my concerns, he said that he would come round and fix the correct tiles, but that i would have to provode the tiles this time.

I bought what i thought looked similar to the tiles (turns out they did look similar but were slightly wrong) again i am no roofer and this guy didn't give me any indication to what i was looking for.