Rotten purlin ends and other mess - Easy fix, or run a mile?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening all

I've had an offer accepted on a house that's got a pretty long list of issues. Most of them I'm confident with fixing myself, but this one's bugging me as I worry it might be a nightmare to sort. I've got no experience with roofs so excuse any incorrect/dodgy terminology :censored:

After looking closely at the gable, the purlin ends look to be rotting away, and the rafter which I assume is holding up the slates & overhang above looks to be in a state. Scrolling back in time on google maps shows the slates were replaced around 15 years ago, but all of the pvc covers etc. which protected that end are long gone. I reckon it's all been exposed to the elements and ill-maintained for many years since. Several tiles have slipped/blown on off in the interim - this must be a windy corner.

A loft room with velux windows was added in 2011, but the roof appears to have a bow in it that's been there unchanged at least since 2009 according to street view. Some damp looks to have affected the plaster surrounding one of the exposed purlins in the loft, which has been reinforced at some point.

I've held off proceeding with the mortgage/conveyancing until a structural survey is done. We've scraped together to finally afford to buy and got a reasonable price provided there's not a serious issue here (I've mostly got aesthetic stuff and a kitchen to tackle). I'd sooner back out and save the £800 on the survey if there's likely a serious issue with the roof, rather than throwing money away and it falling through anyway.

Any advice from you guys in the know would be much appreciated! Pics attached

Attachments

• roof1.PNG
    roof1.PNG
    725.3 KB · Views: 107
  • roof2.PNG
    roof2.PNG
    745.3 KB · Views: 97
  • roof3.PNG
    roof3.PNG
    436.8 KB · Views: 93
  • roof4.PNG
    roof4.PNG
    2.5 MB · Views: 92
  • roof5.PNG
    roof5.PNG
    2.3 MB · Views: 89