Router non concentric guide bush allowance

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Due to learning how to use one and needing g one for the project In undertaking, rather than buying a large expensive unit I opted for a more DIY approach until I get more experienced. Yes I bought a lidl pof 1200 router.
Having got this a Christmas from my parents I've only just got round to trying it out.
I'm an engineer by trade so thought I'd make sure it was concentric to the spindle.
I put a square up against the bush and base then measured from the spindle edge to the square in 4 corners.
Using a Vernier calliper I got 2 sides at 7mm and 2 sides at 6.5mm.
To look at it, it does look slightly off but I don't know if that's just a slight optical illusion, hence measuring it.

Would you say that's acceptable given its price? And in a sense, I could mark the sides the same and only use these to cut with. I couldn't tell you what's at fault but I don't think it's the guide bush.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
as an aside the last time i saw them on sale they where metric as in 12/6mm rather than imperial 1/4 1/2 inch
what uses are you planning to use the router for ??
apart from worktops and signs i never use guide bushes most applications use a bearing fence or strait edge

They are advertised as metric but with the collets they will make up the difference. 12.7mm = 1/2 6.3 = 1/4
At the moment I'm just learning and used 6mm hardboard I have left over from the cupboard back I took out to put the guide bush up against on the MDF template I'm making.
I've already bought a trend template profiler 1/4 but haven't used it just yet.
If I use it for anything else, it will be a bonus :)

to be honest on most applications 0.5mm wont make any difference
you can probably make it more accurate by enlarging/elongating the holes
it may be worth trying to plunge unevenly or differently to see if it effects the plunged cutter position

Sponsored Links