routering for newbies!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have never used a router before but I need to router a 4mm deep x 10mm wide notch around 5 fire doors to fit an intrumescent strip ,making them legit fire doors.

Any tips please as the edge of the doors will be about 44mm wide,are they easy enough to keep in a straight line along the edge or is there a knack to it, and what kind of bit should I be looking for to cut the gap as its new terminology to me ,collets and such! :eek:
thanks guys.

Sponsored Links
mikell - you want an Intumescent Recessor, available for 10mm & 15mm wide strips. Shanked for either 1/4" or 1/2" routers. Trend make them (as do other manufactures) and they cost circa £18 to £28 depending on shank size. Available from www.itslondon.co.uk and others.

As these router cutters rely on the router base plate sitting on the door face the 'rocking' issue is minimised. You can use a 2 flute straight cutter but the router has to sit on the door edge, thus a danger of 'rocking'; this can be reduced by increasing the area the router sits on by clamping battens along the door.

... and spend some time practising on similar sized scrap material before starting on the doors. You will need to get used to the feel of the router and find the appropriate feed rate.

also when routing using the guide fence if the fence is between you and the door you need to cut from left to right

if its behind the door its right to left

if you travel the wrong way the the cutter can pull off line

Sponsored Links
thanks guys,
all apreciated,
can I just use a 15mm router bit that comes in the box ( i seen them in aldi!) a cheap router and box of bits for 14.99.
Or the intrumescent 15mm one you mentioned is different to the 15mm one that comes with the router?
ta again.

As you are not used to the router get a proper intumescent cutter, its far easier to use and the cost of the bit will be far less than a mucked up door. I use the ones from Wealden tool