safe zones question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i'm a plumber but interested as the sparks on our kitchen refurb job dont run cables horizontally or vertically from high level cooker switch to switch behind cooker, they run it at an angle behind metal capping but i'm sure a drill would go through it, after tiling you would be drawn to drilling at a 45 degree angle to the line of the switches as you would think the cables would be in the safe zone but are the safe zones requirewd if the cable is behind capping
ta

Sponsored Links
Capping is not the armour required to protect cables. Mechanically protected against damage sufficient to prevent penetration of the cable by nails, screws and the like is often considered as being 3mm plate. I have looked for BS EN 50085 to find thickness required but have failed.

However all the capping would need earthing and normally it is only there to stop the plasterers trowel.

With all these regulations of course they are not just to do with electricians and it does not matter if it is the cavity wall insulation, Loft insulation or plaster it is as much the responsibility of following trade as electrician. I know in most cases it is quite obvious where wires are to be covered but where a socket outlet is obscured by kitchen cupboards then it could be considered that the kitchen fitted should provide protection for the cable.

Supplies to washing machines and like are normally through an isolator switch which will show cable position but I have seen where plans have been changed resulting in socket outlets being covered and abandoned. I have one which is covered by a radiator but in that case it can still be seen.