1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Scantronic 9448+ Alarm

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by BrettRogersUK, 13 Aug 2019.

  1. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now then! I've managed to set it all up. I've managed to change the user code etc. Now though I'm getting a tamper light on when I turn the panel on. I put my user code in to stop the internal sounder. Then I get a light on number 2. Then when I put the code in again it goes to tamper light. Would this indicate the tamper on the pir that I have wired into zone 2 is faulty?

    I've taken the tamper wires out from the panel and linked the AT Connection with a short wire. But it's still going to tamper. I've also shorted out the 0v and TR connections too just to make sure it's not the box outside making the tamper alarm.

    The bell outside isn't sounding either when I attach the mains and battery. Could this be a battery in the box outside that needs changing?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,293
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hold the spring tamper switch in with your finger on the control panel and reset with code.
    Is the battery connected ? Is the battery old ?
     
  3. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have tried doing that and it didn't make any difference. The battery is brand new (as mentioned previously) as are the fuses that are in it. One thing I didn't do is reset everything to defaults when I did the factory reset on it to get the code back to default one before I changed it again.
     
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,123
    Thanks Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok check the bell fuse is ok as the bell tamper won’t clear if it’s blown , remove 0v at the bell and link aux volts - to TR does that clear it ?
     
  5. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it that needs to be done in the bell box outside sparkymarka.
     
  6. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,123
    Thanks Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No at the panel ...or if you have a multimeter on dc range check between bell 12+ and 0v for 13.8v approx
     
  7. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep getting 14.0v
     
  8. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,123
    Thanks Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is that at the bell 12v+ and 0v connections on the bottom of the pcb
     
  9. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Sorry for the late reply. Yes that's on the lower connectors on the board 12v & 0v. 14.0v.

    I did a walk test today and I gather, from the user manual I downloaded, that during the walk test it is supposed to give out a continuous tone then when a detector is triggered it interrupts the tone. What I've got is a beeping with Entry/Exit light on then Tamper light on and it switches between those two in a beeping noise not a continuous tone.

    Does this mean then that the front door magnet is bust as it keeps being triggered? I've put my meter across the two tamper wires that come from the front door magnet and am getting 2.0 ohms (give or take .1 ohms either way).

    Would shorting the panel tamper pins help so it's in a constant non-tamper state?
     
  10. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,123
    Thanks Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No ....you need to find the tamper shorting the pins is going to add to your problems ...post picture of pcb with what you have shorted out ...eg tamper and bell tamper
     
  11. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here you go: 20190819_171527.jpg
     
  12. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,123
    Thanks Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok ....looks ok . link out e/e , then put it in walk test, it should only show tamper ...now wiggle the tamper switch on the back of the pcb and hold it in ....does it go constant tone ?
     
  13. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it does go to constant tone. then when I release the switch it starts beeping again.
     
  14. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    452
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's normal? Can you hear the tamper close when the lid is in place? The spring may need stretching slightly to reach the back of the case when the lid is close (be gentle if you try to stretch it!)

    Failing that, I've known 9448 tamper switches on older panels cause an issue when the lid hasn't been opened for a while and is then opened up. They sometimes need pressing in and out a few times to get them to close properly again.
     
  15. BrettRogersUK

    BrettRogersUK

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right then, I've just stretched the spring out a little and now when I put power to the box and turn it on the internal sounder sounds, I put my code in to stop the sounder and then my code again and NO TAMPER LIGHT now. Just the Green power LED is lit.
     
Loading...

Share This Page