Screwfix = poor quality?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Having recently just started in this trade i'm still unsure of what suppliers are the best to go with for equipment i.e. fittings, valves, pipes etc.

Screwfix caught my eye due to their cheap prices but i read elsewhere on this site that they tend to be poor quality. Is this true? If so, what companies fittings would you recommend?

Are wickes plumbing supplies any good?

What i dont want is to save customers money by using cheaper goods from screwfix, only for it to go faulty later, which will inevitably get people thinking i'm a dodgy plumber who does poor quality unreliable work.

Sponsored Links
I use screwfix occasionally,normally on a saturday afternoon/sunday morning when everywhere else is shut.
Like you say quality is at best irregular.What i mean is you can buy,for example a ball valve one week and it would be of great build quality etc.Then buy the same item a few weeks later and it would be a load of ****.
Have you used plumbfix yet?
As for merchants i find that PTS,city,HPS and our local merchant,Williams to be about the best you can get.Normally have most things in stock or at the very latest next late morning.
You will just have to try all merchants in your area to get a feel of quality,service and helpfulness.

I've not tried plumfix, will give them a try.

Thanks for the advice, much appreciated. we've got a couple of large plumbing suppliers in my area so think i will focus on those guys for parts. I'd rather not risk going with DIY suppliers if the quality is not going to be great!

Sponsored Links