Second BT Line

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, There. We have just got Broadband in the village, and I have got a Tisclai connection, but it is slow.

I have no doubt that the problems are that a) being really out in the sticks, we are at 5.99999KM from the exchange, and the previous occupant of my place used gash cable when fitting the extension.

What I need is an extra BT box, rather than just an extension lead, but BT want £104 to fit it, which I can't afford, and they won't sell me the kit, even though I am a computer technician.

Anyone know where I can get the kit, preferably in or around Bury St. Edmunds, in Suffolk?

Thanks, Nic Jamin

Sponsored Links
tapcin said:
Hi, There. We have just got Broadband in the village, and I have got a Tisclai connection, but it is slow.

I have no doubt that the problems are that a) being really out in the sticks, we are at 5.99999KM from the exchange, and the previous occupant of my place used gash cable when fitting the extension.

What I need is an extra BT box, rather than just an extension lead, but BT want £104 to fit it, which I can't afford, and they won't sell me the kit, even though I am a computer technician.

Haha. Ofcourse they wont sell you it. Why would a company want to make your life easy, and lose £100? Do you seriously think that any company in the world is run for the benefit of the public. It is all about the money - that is the capitalist way. Do not make me or anyone else laugh at you again, for wondering why a company wanted to lose £100 to make your life easy.

Regarding the phone problem though, I cant imagine that a short run of dodgy cable could slow your connection that much. And why do you want an extra BT box? Surely an extension is the same thing?

Incidentally, seeing as you are a techie, are you aware of contention ratios on broadband. They are sometimes as high as 50:1, possibly the reason for the slow connection.