securit 700l engineers reset

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
New house I have been given the user code but not the engineers code as the alarm was on contract and the company will not release the code to me but will come out and change it at a cost, yeah right.

So as a qualified electrician I',m armed with my jumper link to do a power down reset to factory defaults, my question is when I pop the lid on the alarm panel in the loft I'm going to trigger the tamper, do I have to gallop back down stairs and input the user code to silence or can I do it in the panel somehow, I'm guessing no. One more thing once I'm into engineers mode can I trigger tampers with no alarm IE for removing PIR for decorating etc.

Sponsored Links
Well it will only set off the internal alarm (speaker) and not the outside siren so why not just disconnect the speaker or ignore it altogether and reboot the thing. Take the mains off before you open the lid - then briefly disconnect the battery -- then reboot as instructed - then go down to the keypad.

Hi tspark3009,

The times I've had to go up and down to get to the keypad, what a pain, and my knees get the ointment treatment when I get home. Sometimes the obvious is staring us in the face and it takes someone not involved to tell us. I was doing just that, when this little old lady said, " ... can't you take that thing upstairs with you?...". Simple and obvious, ever since then I make a habit of disconnecting the keypad, at both ends obviously, link it up to a short piece of six core, feed the six core into the back of the panel, and no more 'running up and down'.

Sponsored Links
Not a tip I'll be adopting in a hurry. :confused:

I'll let the O.P. decide if he wants to use that method, it's up to him really, and not anyone else.

Sparkymarka, I have always put you down as a bit of a decent guy. You are not joining the zombie 'one liners' as well are you ? I sincerely hope not.

Come over to the Dark Side Sparkymarka. ;)

Hi tspark3009,