security light wiring advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys newbie here.

Quick question. Want to wire 2 lights out side onto a 2 gang switch.

1 is a standard bulkhead the other is a non pir 500w security light.

want to be able to switch idependantly.

I planned to take the feed from the lighting circuit in the loft.Do i need to run 2 separate feeds from the loft?
Can i run the live neutral and earth to the light fitting and the a separate switch wire to the switch?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
if you can take a permanent live with neutral and earth to the switching position, then you can take a live from com on first switch to com in second switch. Neutral connected together in terminal block, then take the twin and earth cables off to the to light fittings by connecting lives to the L1's respectively and the neutrals connected to the others neutrals in the terminal block. earths to remain connected together to ensure continuity to the fittings.

Is your lighting circuit rcd protected? What is interior cable installation method and route? you should not clip standard twin and earth outside. there are certain regs around being limited to a 150w lamp outside

That sounds good. thanks.

All rcd protected.

Whats that about 150w limitation?

Sponsored Links
External lighting fixed to an external surface of the dwelling and supplied from the dwelling must either be

a) automatically controlled to switch off in daylight and switch off when not required and have a maximum lamp capacity of 150W, or

b) energy efficient.

I was just wondering if Part L is like Part P.
I can't find a relevant document.

What I mean is - are these wattage figures actually law or only to be found in 'Approved Document L'?

They are only in AD L, but as with AD P, it would be an uphill struggle to do something different.