security lights and 3 pin plug

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
complete newbie to electrics so need help & advise.

i want to hang a security light on my outside back wall.

already have hole in wall for my satellite tv cable which i no longer use. hence, can re-use for security light cable. no need to get qualified electrican and no need to drill extra holes etc. hence, save time and money!

probably go with led light but not averse to halogen.
perhaps 30w for the led light?
perhaps 500w for the halogen?

i want to run that security light off my mains plug - ie connect the security light to a 3 pin plug and run it from the wall power socket.

the distance between the security light and the wall power socket is about 10 feet.

so, is this do-able?

what cable/wiring would i need to handle the power consumption?
what fuse would i need?

as part of the cable will run through my brick wall, will it need extra protection?

please give me exact specifications so i can get the exact parts at the local shed.

also, what's a good led security light make/model?
something of low wattage, yet still bright enough to light up an area of about 30 ft x 30 ft, 180° coverage.

ok, that's all i can think of to ask at the moment.
appreciate any help you can give.
thank you.

Sponsored Links
You wont be allowed to use 500w halogen on one fitting, it is against building regulations.
150w max or energy efficient.

Ideally cable will need to be suitable for the environmental conditions, such as frost, heat and sunlight, also rodents and plant growth must be considered.