Seeking advice on the right drill

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi gang,

DIY newbie here, hope I'm posting this in the right place.

I'm currently in the process of working out which drill is the right one for me. This'll likely be an easy one for you lot! I'm basically after a drill that will pull enough of a hole in the wall as to allow an ethernet cable to pass through. I have no idea what the diameter of the drillbit would need to be, but I imagine it'd need to be a wee bit on the chunky side.

I really like the look of the Bosch PSB 750 RCE Impact Drill. I just don't fully understand what it (or other hammers in this price range) are cable of. Will they accept drillbits that are of the size that would allow me to drill holes large enough to accommodate such relatively chubby cables? Please excuse my ignorance, I'm just struggling to get my head around all this, especially when different 'experts' are telling me different things.

The wall that I intend to drill through is part of my new conservatory and is made of, well, nothing especially rock-solid, and is only about 7-10 inches wide (haven't yet measured). There are no wires or pipes underneath, so I'm not worried about drilling through something unpleasant and dangerous.

Thanks for any and all help. I'm really very much looking forward to investing in the best possible drill and getting stuck into put holes in my new conservatory! :p

Sponsored Links