Self employed tax help needed.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi just went self employed last tax year and currently doing the books for self assesment etc. I am doing it myself as i am a sole trader with no employees so its pretty straight-forward.

The 2 queries i have are;

I have costs which i put down as consumables like gloves screws blades tool servicing etc but obviously i bought quite a few new tools in my first year. What percentage of their cost can i claim tax relief on and how do i put them down.

Secondly to make things simple i have bought all materials etc through my buisness account and charged any materials to a particular customer and kept all the reciepts as that one job. Is this necessary or can i just record materials as costs and not be specific as to which job and customer they relate to. This would make it easier now i am buying things on account etc.

This may require a very long reply so if you could point me in the direction of a good guide/ resource instead that'd be great

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
This may require a very long reply so if you could point me in the direction of a good guide/ resource instead that'd be great

Thanks in advance
Get in contact with a proper accountant. If you're doing this for the first time you need one!

i'm in the same boat and i got an accountant to do mine, for the time you will spend on doing your self assesment plus things you wouldnt use to offset against your buisness an accountant is worth the money

Thanks for your replies but i'm probably not going to get an accountant due to low turnover and very few expenses outside tools. Any other help appreciated.

Sponsored Links
An accountant can help you save money, grow your turnover and show you how to calculate your depreciation of those tools in the most profitable way.

See it as an investment