self-employment rates ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
help again please :oops: .

i will be going self-employed and working for an alarm company 40 hours a week in the new year. i have worked for this company before and i was getting something like £410ish not sure, but it defnetly was £320 home per week.

so now i need to know what to ask per hour / week, now that i will be managing my own income.

a van with diesel & mobile phone will be provided by the company. i have 10 years experience in my line of work and would describe myself as a skilled hard worker but always learning.

so whats the going rate ? and what do i need to watch out for ?

Sponsored Links
you need to watch out for the taxman. if they judge you to be working for them as an employee rather than a sub contractor then they will clobber you and the employer for the back tax ni etc.

As thermo says, with them supplying a van, diesel, mobile phone, work and 40 hours per week you can call it what you like, but the taxman will class you as employed by them under their new rules.

i see, might have to knock that idea on the head then. if will get me in trouble, i have other work in the pipe line from private customers the company work was just to keep a steady income, as things have slowed up in this area big time.

Sponsored Links
you could ask for part-time work, but it is usual for employers to forbid workers from competing in the same trade in their own time.

i will be using there van & tools from 9-5pm Monday to Friday. but i will also be using my own van+diesel+tools+phone+shock quite a bit out of hours, thanks for the link saxondale IL have a wee look around.

doesnt matter whose tools you are using. if you are billing them as a sub contractor week in week out as they are your main employment 99% of the time the taxman will basically say you are employed by them and treat you and the company as such.