Separate heat sources for HW and CH?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm an newbie, please could I have some help with the right choice of boiler(s)?

I live in a bungalow and I'm looking to switch from a 1970s oil-fired open-vented CH & HW system to a gas-fired sealed (combi?) system in the loft. Here's the objectives:

1. Save space in the house by eliminating the boiler and hot water tank in a big cupboard on the ground floor.
2. Save space in the garden by eliminating the oil tank.
3. Improve the use of space in the loft by having a wall-mounted boiler (boilers?) on the gable wall at one end, eliminating the cold water tank and F&E tank stuck right in the middle of the loft.
4. Achieve a shower flow rate at least equal to the pumped power shower we have at the moment.
5. Increase system efficiency to reduce running costs.

My mains water supply is 35 litres/minute at 3.0 bar. The power shower currently outputs 13 litres/minute at the shower head. According to the calculation tool on the Energy Saving Trust website, the heating requirement of this semi-detached 2-bedroom 1-bathroom bungalow is in the order of 9-10 kW.

I had been working on the theory of fitting a big combi in order to get a good enough hot water flow for the shower. The Worcester Bosch 42CDi seems to meet that part of the spec. It's HW output of 17 l/m for a 35°C increase would probably just give me the 13 l/m shower output I would like, even in winter. That's assuming the restrictions of a thermostatic mixer and the shower head, and the need for it to maintain that rate at a 40°C increase at this time of year. Trouble is, a 42CDi would be massive overkill on the CH side, because it only modulates down to about 9.2 kW.

OK, so I need to choose a much smaller heat source for the central heating. What's the best soltion that will still allow me to have the really good shower flow I've got now?