Serious Question Wood Allergies

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am currently working with a product I have never worked with before, it is Fire Protected Siberian Larch.

I am cutting this product outside without a mask.

After the first three days I developed a wheezy chest but put this down to working at -2 for three days. I then went and worked in doors for two days, then it was the weekend, still felt a bit stuffy, I've just done another three days on the larch, left today at 1.00pm within in an hour started coughing heavily, chest went wheezy then gargly nose running like a train then my breathing went pear shaped am currently in hospital having tests.

So this is a serious question, has anyone come across someone or themselves that has an allergic reaction to Larch or Wood and how would I get myself tested.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
am currently in hospital having tests

I read your post and only spotted this after rereading, so hadn’t appreciated how serious it is.

So this is a serious question, has anyone come across someone or themselves that has an allergic reaction to Larch or Wood and how would I get myself tested

I’ve used loads of Siberian larch: I used to run a factory making joinery from it.

Ive never had any allergy problems myself or staff.

The only thing I would say is that it’s very hard and it’s splinters are evil.

some timbers are known to be a serious irritant, but larch only gets 1 star for potency in this database: for hives and skin irritation

whatis in the fire treatment?

I had a quick Google about fire retardant for cladding and found HR Prof is currently used.

Here is the MSDS https://www.fireretardantuk.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/MSDS-HR-PROF-EN-07.01.19-1.pdf

Recommended to show this to medical professionals if you get a reaction. Also suggests a p3 filter and respirator while cutting it. However it's non hazardous.

Other possible is Non-Com Exterior made by lonza wood. Cannot find a msds.