Shed shelving

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Looking to build in shelving to a new shed arriving next week (10x6). Wanting to keep it simple and cheap. Looking to take 2 shelves all the way round the 2 sides and back.

Want to use London brackets (cheap, readily available and quick) and some type of sheet material ripped down to size.

I have 2 sheets of OSB 18mm (in storage for another project - but this has got pushed back because of material costs) that I could use, but I'm a little worried about the weight - ideally I would have aimed for something closer to 9-12mm plus a baton on the front to help with bowing.

I can buy a thinner sheet if necessary (may need more than 1) but if I can get away with the 18mm I have it would save me money. Timber is so expensive today.

I have never used London brackets before so I am unsure of what weight they could support. Shelf width around 10-12 inches and I will put a bracket up on most if not all of the uprights. The shelves will not be holding very heavy items - maybe smaller tins of paints, cans, hand tools etc etc. Heavier items such as power tools, tool boxes etc will be at ground level.

So - use what I have? or buy a thinner sheet and baton it at the front.

Sponsored Links
Sheds are usually very flimsily built. Do you know the dimensions of the studs?

the brackets themselves will be stronger than the shed.

Sheds are usually very flimsily built. Do you know the dimensions of the studs?

the brackets themselves will be stronger than the shed.

Not the strongest shed, but not the worst either. 3x1.5 inch studs, 19mm panelling.

i personally would start with a shelving unit in a back corner and take it from there
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/124329603427?hash=item1cf29f3163:g:6ocAAOSw8jJfV2ZR

shelving from brackets may sound cheap but by the time you add 2x1par[18x44mm] to the back and front for support thats about £4 a meter added to the cost