shiplap gaps

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

so, been building a shed, and i'm no professional so there are imperfections here and there.

one being between some planks of the shiplap. I don't think it'll let any rain in, but with the changes in temp the boards are having a move about and I can see sunlight through in a couple of places.

Is there a recommended (i assume flexible) sealer to use between the planks on the inside? or should I just ply line it and forget about it?

I am intending to store mostly tools and garden equipment in here, but want it to last for as many years as possible.

Sponsored Links
you can put roofers felt or membrane behind the cladding. It will keep out rain, snow, dirt, insects and draughts.

I think he's already fitted the cladding, hence my edited post. A breathable membrane would be better in anycase.

Sponsored Links
Yeah I was intending to put it on the outside before cladding but just didn’t.

so, stick it on inside and clad with ply? Solve the issue?

how did you secure the planks ??
if you can get them off cleanly better to close up the gaps otherwise you may get cupping or worse

Man that would suck!

all are screwed in from the outside, so moving them now would be a pain in the rear.

there really nothing else to be done? Attached are the images of the “bad” areas in question (ignore the clear area at the top, that’s to be covered on the outside tomorrow)

Attachments

• 46F09E7A-99F1-4474-8111-9A3A8711F0EE.jpeg
    46F09E7A-99F1-4474-8111-9A3A8711F0EE.jpeg
    289.5 KB · Views: 90
  • 02E8E970-2328-4D1C-9FA0-7DDBBDDBC122.jpeg
    02E8E970-2328-4D1C-9FA0-7DDBBDDBC122.jpeg
    260.5 KB · Views: 101
  • 1BF2E13D-BEDA-4D1D-8BA8-B51D7CBD7622.jpeg
    1BF2E13D-BEDA-4D1D-8BA8-B51D7CBD7622.jpeg
    167.3 KB · Views: 94