shiplap

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i'm about to clad my outhouse with shiplap but not too sure whether to start at the bottom or top of each wall.I'm tucking up under a soffit so is it best to start at the top ...if i start the lengths on the bottom then i may have trouble slotting in the top length..any clues lads?

Sponsored Links
I'm no pro....

When I built our summerhouse iI started at the bottom. Then the next one sits snug on top of the last ( so gravity is working with you rather than against you)

Make sure you get the first one SPOT ON LEVEL AND at the correct height! or you'll end up having problems the higher you go. Also check your levels every few rows, if it starts to go out of level you'll not notice till you get to the top! :oops:

You might find that if it goes out a LITTLE bit you can compensate slightly with the next, but as long as you start level and each one sit nicely on the last it should stay pretty much ok.

As far as the soffits go, I put mine on after the shiplap. But either way it shouldn't be a problem tucking the last piece under the soffit and fitting it over the preceeding piece of shiplap, as it's only a rebate.

you have to start at the bottom. Also space off or kick out the bottom one on the battens so it is not in contact with the wall or plate or ground (to prevent it getting damp and rotting quickly). The bottom board will be the first to rot. so fix it with brass screws so you can easily get it off. Give it a thorough soak in preservative. You might like to prepare a few spare boards and tuck them behind the cladding for later repairs and replacement.

cut the final (top) piece to fit

as the boards expand and contact with the weather, if they are dry, tuck a bit of folded cardboard between each board as you fit it

just use one row of screws or nails per board - if you use two, one above the other, it will crack between them when it next contracts