Shower Mixer Installation With Limited Space Behind Wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
As part of my first bathroom renovation, I am planning to install a new shower with a bar mixer above the bath, with pipes going up from under the bath behind the wall to the mixer. Here's what the pipework to the current bath tap looks like:

155523-222623532fbe3a89e6e1df3fd54c6c82.jpg
155522-2e88a217f23400651304100d7b4e9a53.jpg

For both the hot and cold pipes, I think I'll need to cut off the old pipework just above the floor, put in a combined check/isolation-valve, and then a T-joint to which I can then re-connect the tap, and have a pipe going up the wall to the new mixer.

To get the pipes for the mixer behind the wall, I'm planning to remove the dot-n-dab plasterboard behind the bath, batten out the wall by 2-3cm, and replace with cementboard, giving just enough room for the 15mm pipe and clips.

Does this sound like a reasonable plan? I am still quite new to DIY, and this will be my first plumbing project, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Sounds like a workable plan. Bear in mind ,shower mixers need the hot and cold in specific orientations and distances apart. Typically ,but not always , hot on the left and 150 mm centres. What supplies the hot water ?
Combi boiler ,gravity fed hot water cylinder etc ?

Sounds like a workable plan. Bear in mind ,shower mixers need the hot and cold in specific orientations and distances apart. Typically ,but not always , hot on the left and 150 mm centres. What supplies the hot water ?
Combi boiler ,gravity fed hot water cylinder etc ?
Thanks for the advice. The hot water is supplied by a combi-boiler. Would it be worth getting pipe benders to achieve the correct distance between the pipes?

Pipe benders to achieve distances ??
Don't get where you are coming from ?
Most horizontal bar mixer valves require 15 mm pipes to come out the wall 150 mm apart and horizontal.