Silicone around bathroom wash basin

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello guys. I'm new to re-doing silicone, never used a silicone gun in my life. I spent some time yesterday removing clear silicone from my very small bathroom wash basin. Hard work and none of it came off in one piece, very bitty. And then I put No Nonsense sealant remover on which helped me get rid of residue on the tiles and basin.

20181014_201808.jpg 20181015_134750.jpg

Is it advisable I now spray it with my HG Mould before replacing the silicone? And then I was going to clean the area with my 70% Isopropyl Alcohol which I believe is good for making sure new silicone will adhere properly.

In what order shall I do all this? I'm thinking like this order below or is it overkill?

1.Soap and water to clean away the sealant remover
2. Dry it
3. Spray with HG Mould
4. Wipe it away with water
5. Dry it
6. Wipe on IPA
7. Let it evaporate properly
8. Do the silicone.

Secondly, I watched videos and I was going to smooth out a bead with my finger dipped in soapy water. However, I was advised this by someone on another forum, (not DIYNOT):

"Get a Fuji or similar silicone profiling tool for the new bead. Concave beads promote water retention and ultimately mould. You want a proper profile which sheds the water away."

So should I not use my finger and if not, will the Unibond tool in my second photo be sufficient, the bit with the cutoff edge? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
If your a silicone newb practice on something first it is a lot harder than it looks to make it good and you only get one go before having to remove it all again.

The fugi tool is excellent for first timers and would recommend it if you want a professional looking finish.

Yeah, I'll practise on something first. But what about the tool I have, using my finger and water retention?