1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

SINGLE PHASE 480v electric motor wiring

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by simpjd, 23 Apr 2020.

  1. simpjd

    simpjd

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I've got a motor which is rated as 240/480V and 22/11A - SINGLE PHASE.

    I've got the DOL wiring diagram to wire it as high or low voltage, which makes sense.

    Question is, if I wanted to use 480v to reduce current, can I wire this from a 3 phase DELTA supply (which is available), given the motor is singe phase?

    The motor has a 2 live/hot wire input + earth. However as its single phase I assume the 2 live/hot wires are for live (at 480v) and neutral.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,259
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Phase to phase normally 400 volt except mines and quarries, so it would be well under voltage, may work with a split phase supply normally 460 volt phase to phase but not three phase supply.
     
  4. simpjd

    simpjd

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks! So 480v is somewhat specialised? Where would you find 480v?
     
  5. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,259
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I seem to remember mines and quarries used a higher voltage, not a clue why, but remember when working for SLD pumps back in the 70's we had special pumps for mines and quarries with a higher voltage and a special cable, but that was 50 years ago so can't remember what voltage it was.
     
  6. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,109
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a 5kVA motor which will need something like 15kVA to get going. You could generate the required 480v by using a 1:2 step-up auto-transformer but certainly not worth the effort unless you really need to use that motor. Alternatively you might manage to find a 3-phase 400v transformer with a 480 output winding
     
  7. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    12,636
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Was that 660V? Seem to remember coming across a few motors over the years which were 660v but can't remember what sites they were from as it was so long ago.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,259
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seem to remember the Robin tunnel boring machine had 10kV volt transformed to 660 volt at the head, then 220 volt delta IT for lights and control. Supply to site was 11kV so two transformers one for above ground 400 volt 3 phase and one for TBM at 10kV.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page