single storey extension Project managing myself?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
is this doable?

Got plans and approval from council to build a single storey extension on to the the kitchen out onto he garden which will be turned into a living room and the living room a kitchen.

Is 3.8 meters out by 5.6 meters across with rear access, pitched roof with sky lights and French doors.

Now been getting a few quotes and they are all coming in around 23-25k just for a water tight shell. No alterations to electrics, plumbing or plastering etc.

I'm a plumber/gas fitter by trade and have picked up a few things over the years.

Has anyone managed to project manage a build themselves? We got a budget of around 16k.

Reckon I could dig the foundations by hand myself looking at the plans need to be 1200 deep by 600 wide.

Then maybe source my own bricklayers etc.

Just putting a few feelers out really to see if this is acheaviable on the budget I have as no idea on material costings etc.

Any advice?

Sponsored Links
My feeling is you're putting yourself in for a lot of hassle and things will be slow. I think going on gut feeling would be a good idea. If you've plenty of time and patience maybe it's worth a go!

Unless you already know reliable, knowledgeable trades who don't charge the earth, then it can be more costly procuring individual trades - in terms of money and time and hassle.

You do need to cost and plan this all up before deciding. But if money is the main factor, then that does make the options down quite a bit.

Could you not save 200mm off the foundations straight away? That seems an odd depth.

Have you considered the electrics? Isn't most of that going to be notifiable due to moving the kitchen?

I can't see how you could make a lounge a kitchen without gas / electric work? At the every least you'll need an extractor.

You could make the brick work faster and cheaper buy using a thin joint system. I've used it before and its a lot easier to build.