site work

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
im a domestic installer and have been offered some 2nd fix site work.

I passed my cscs health and safety test a while ago, what card do i need to do this work onsite? I can get an nvq from previous experience as a site operative years ago. Would this be enough? I also have my 17th edition and a EAL domestic installers certificate.

any help you fellahs can give would be greatly appreciated

Sponsored Links
they just want your cscs card ( or ECS card if you took the specific electro-technical test as opposed to the general one ).

it just so they don't have to give a H&S lecture to every new person who comes on site.

Hello G/Arms.

Just my personal experience but I have had to leave the last two sites I was working on (I was doing agency work :( ) because the main contractor wanted the ECS card, not just the CSCS 'general' version.
The firms I was working for tried to sort things with my certs etc but that did not work, nor did I.

Good luck.

Ed

All I've got is CSCS, PASMA and IPAF.

The last two being just for use of access equipment.

I've never been asked for an ECS card, and a good chunk of the work I do is on sites.

Sponsored Links
it just so they don't have to give a H&S lecture to every new person who comes on site.

Huh I dont think I've been on a [proper] site yet without an induction which is basically a H&S lecture.
I even have the Laing and Carillion certificates, which in theory means I don't have to do a full site induction on their sites, some hopes...

Yep, I still have to sit through an induction for every new site I go on.

Even though you have passed the CSCS health and safety test and have a card, means you still have to do an induction on every site you go on. Every site is different, may well have different dangers to be aware of.