Slate tile Kitchen Floor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
I am new to tiling, having only ever done our bathroom floor previously. I embarked on the 10sq m kitchen floor with a lot of fear as not a single wall is square to another and there are lots of odd shapes too.
Was very hard work but I did kinda enjoy it. Its not a brilliant job, but it is my job!
I used natural slate tiles from Wicks but want to know a few things:
1) How should I clean them. Ive grouted now but they simply arent very clean. I did try using soapy water and they still went back to kinda dusty streaky. Is there a trick to it?
2) I know I need to use some kind of sealing product on them. Any suggestions of good ones for protecting and sealing them?
Thanks
chris

Sponsored Links
You should seal them BEFORE grouting. You will now need to buy a grout film remover to try and get them clean then seal with an impregnator for a matt look or an intensifier for a glossy finish like when they are wet, I use Lithofin sealers

Jason

ahh ok, didn't do enough homework on that one. Never mind. Will clean with Grout Film Remover then seal. Would you do multiple coats of impregnator? Cant find lifton impregnator in Screwfix, will i find in DIY store or buildbase / plumbase or Jewson???
Thanks
Chris

Sponsored Links
Its usual to seal before & after grouting so an impregnator may well need 4 coats in total, the intensifiers as they sit on the surface will need less maybe two or three coats. You can get it here

Jason

Thanks for your help everyone.
Just a couple of further questions:

Step 1 - clean the tiles with the grout film remover, Do i need to be really careful not to get the remover on the grout lines themselves or does it not matter?

Step 2 - Apply impregnator, Here, again do I have to be careful not to get the product on the grout lines, ensuring I keep it only on the tiles, or do I want it on the grout as well?