Smallest external junction box

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to replace a halogen PIR security floodlight. Currently, the floodlight has 3-core running straight from the light to a fused spur in the loft. Probably a run of 5-6m.

The new LED replacement comes with 1m of 3-core. I need a small junction box. The exterior ones I've seen are 80x80x50mm or similar.

Are there any smaller ones I could use?

Sponsored Links
Opinions on this will vary - but if avoidable I'd rather not have a JB outside, if not only for aesthetic reasons. I've often found with these kind of units, you can replace the flex fairly easily, giving you a longer run into the loft, and then JB in the loft.

Of course, may or may not be an option for your light. I'm no expert though so lets see what others say.

Jon

I'd rather not have a JB outside, if not only for aesthetic reasons.
Well - that light isn't exactly going to cause Dale Chihuly any sleepless nights... :mrgreen:

I would have thought a small JB (a black Wiska would be my choice) would fit on the wall behind the light and not be particularly noticeable. Use decent stuffing glands and have both cables going into the box at the bottom and there shouldn't be any water ingress problems.

Sponsored Links
You could back entry into a conduit end box, tiny piece of conduit, then a female conduit adapter, black stuffing gland. Use a gasket between the lid and the box job done. Don't forget to silicone the hole you drill in the back for the cable entry.

One of these, fixed to the mounting bracket?

KBJB002.JPG

One of these, fixed to the mounting bracket?

KBJB002.JPG
I assumed the cable was coming out of the wall and straight into the old light. I know he said it was a run of 5 or 6m but I, perhaps incorrectly, didn’t think that would be all outside.