Soffit board alignment issue. Advice needed.

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Can some knowledge person advise if the builder has messed up the soffit board alignment on my new house? This issue is with the back room of the house (see photo). The builder house finishing foreman said it is normal but I don’t tend to agree. The issue is the angle of the 2 soffit boards. You can see soffit board on the right is are not fitted horizontal (0 degrees) thus is not forming a nice joint with the soffit board to the left of photo.

Thanks in advance.

14shz15.jpg

Sponsored Links
I would expect the 2 boards to be fitted like in this example photo, and forming a nice close joint.

The house is a timber house with cement block outer wall if that matters at all.

2v93sci.jpg

I don’t tend to agree with the foreman either, does he go around with a white stick and a dog?

I have no experience with house finishing foremen tbh. Appreciate if you could offer some advice on my inquiry. That’s my main objective.

Sponsored Links
That's quite normal from what I can see by today's standards. If the chimney was upside down these days they would probably just say oh that's quite normal!

I’ve very little experience with building standard tbh. This is my first house. My snagger just added it to the snag list stating that the gap needs to be sealed. Am I right in saying it is bad workmanship and that the soffit board coming in at an angle is fitted wrong? I’m not keen on a big lump of mastic sealing up the gap.
Would be good to hear from someone who has experience with this subject.
Appreciate the feedback.

Yeah it’s obviously not the end of the world, but I’d say it needs re jigging to avoid the gap. Those hollow soffit boards should interlock then any gap covered by a bit of trim.

Yeah it’s obviously not the end of the world, but I’d say it needs re jigging to avoid the gap. Those hollow soffit boards should interlock then any gap covered by a bit of trim.