Some kind of rot - in need of advice (with pictures)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I discovered a gap in my roof lining the other day with a little pile of woody debris under it. On closer inspection the surface of the batten exposed by this gap feels soft and crumbly. But despite a wet few days the whole area seems dry, and the ceiling immediately beneath has never shown any signs of water ingress.

It's in a very tight spot so I can't get my eyes up close but have managed to take some pictures. The first one shows the general scene, the other two are of the batten. If you zoom in there seems (to my uneducated eye) to be some dark fungal growth, reddish looking fruiting bodies and a few white patches.

I am concerned this might be dry rot and clueless as to how worried I should be and what steps to take next. I have no roofing knowledge or contacts so any advice would be very much appreciated.

The house is an early 60s dormer bungalow by the way. The tiles look in decent condition from the outside, and we had a full survey done before buying a couple of years ago but I appreciate surveyors don't go around exposing timbers to check for decay.

Attachments

• P4040462.JPG
    P4040462.JPG
    155.4 KB · Views: 296
  • P4040469.JPG
    P4040469.JPG
    247.3 KB · Views: 303
  • P4040467.JPG
    P4040467.JPG
    235.2 KB · Views: 295
Sponsored Links
Someone has previously opened up the felt and probed the tile lath.
The felt seems to be mineral faced flat roof capping felt. It typically needs full support. But, anyway, its not a suitable felt as an underfelt on a concrete tiled roof. Are there any signs of condenation in the loft?
The question is, why has the tile lath wet rotted: I dont see signs of dry rot? Possibly there's a leak further up the roof or an excess of condensation under the tiles?
Someone should go up on the roof and lift some tiles in that area to examine the state of the surrounding tile laths.