Some questions on first time decorating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I am not an absolute newbie but come across some issues I have done previously so have bullet pointed some questions I could do with some help on.

I had to strip a dado rail off a wall and also there were a number of lumps and bumps etc that needed sorting. Worst still when I removed the dado rail a fair bit of plaster came off and when I tended to some hollow sounding bits more came off.

A friend put me onto something called Gtec easy finish extra which he said could be used to skim over the plasterboard that had been unearth as part of my tidy up and also for some of the holes. Which made sense as its meant to be good for repairs and skimming over, its also really easily sandable. He gave me half a bag but I 've not been able to find any more and would appreciate someone finding me an alternative that does the same job.

Then some more questions:

Having done my best to sand it down I have found some blemishes and deviations I wanted to cover over, tried Brewers plaster which you mix yourself but if done thinly it just flakes off so rubbish, as above any suggestions.

Next I have had to remove the skirting board and behind it there are lots of holes and bashed up bits. Are peoples general thoughts you are replacing the skirting forget about it, or deal with the holes? If there are holes in the plasterboard part of the walls do I try and cut out the damaged plaster and put replacement in and then do I have to properly replaster the walls or can I use the gtec style stuff?

Having done all the work with the gtec, I did a 50/50 mix of paint and water, do I need to do anything else before painting or papering?

If I buy superfresco wall covering (patterned lining paper) does it mean if I go for super subtle texture that the deviations or odd bumps I wish to hide will be just as evident as if I had used normal lining paper?