sony vaio, how much ram?

Discussion in 'Software' started by griffo7, 11 Oct 2008.

  1. griffo7

    griffo7

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My laptop SONY VAIO VGN-NR21J has got 2 gig of ram installed but id like to put another 2 gig in to boost it up to 4 gig of ram. My question is can my laptop take 4 gig? if so is it easy to install? (memory 2GB/Go DDR2 SDRAM).
    cheers Ian.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. TonyWarrington

    TonyWarrington

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check out the Crucial website to find for your model Here.

    I have a suspicion that you may already be at the maximum your system can take :(
     
  4. griffo7

    griffo7

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers, thanks for your help ;)
     
  5. weseeyou

    weseeyou

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why do you want to upgrade memory ? 2Gb is huge . Do you use this for extensive video editing or gaming or something memory intensive ?

    If its running slow with 2Gb then something is seriously wrong. It may be the access times on your hard drive. Laptops HDD's are slow anyway compared with PC drives. It might pay you to clean up your drive dump programs and files no longer neeeded .Backup and then run Defrag twice.

    Any AV or firewall you are using will slow things down considerably on the net . Increasing memory is not going to help either of these issues.

    If you want to speed things up I would look at a hard drive upgrade as well
     
  6. 2scoops0406

    2scoops0406

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,865
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2Gb isn't that much these days, but you might want to check out your memory usage to see if you will see much improvement. Tell tale signs of running out of physical memory are a thrashing HDD.
     
  7. weseeyou

    weseeyou

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    utter twaddle :rolleyes:
     
  8. 2scoops0406

    2scoops0406

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,865
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why? Since Vista home premium recommends a minimum of 1Gb which in previous release, means that's what it'll run in.... just. Why is checking what memory you're actually using before purchasing more twaddle?

    Don't you perform some sort of analysis on a problem before taking steps to fix what you're guessing is the problem?
     
  9. weseeyou

    weseeyou

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    first off what is the point in buying more memory than you need just because you can ? Sure manufacturers are offering more and more ram not because you need it but because most people are like sheep and think its a ****ing contest.
    `I've got 2Gb how much have you got ?' nah nah na nah nah
    I run a very fast PC on 1Gb of pc2700 more than enough to run 2x limited company requirements including video and audio editing and raw image editing and huge CAD graphics

    The only thing that might benefit from more than 2Gb is the very latest games which you'd hadly try to run on a laptop because they use weaker CPU's poorer GFX cards and get very hot.

    As for thrashing hard drives
    :rolleyes:
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. 2scoops0406

    2scoops0406

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,865
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why what do you think happens when you run out of physical RAM?
     
  12. weseeyou

    weseeyou

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when did you last run out of 2Gb ram whilst surfing or editing an image or playing a DVD. ? :LOL:
    if you are looking to flame don't waste your time I have set you to `ignore' .
    I would suggest you go and sort out your ailing hard drive lol :rolleyes: :LOL: :LOL:
     
  13. Igorian

    Igorian

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    2,736
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why don't you try and answer the OPs question without trying to make yourself look clever, which you really haven't. Quite the opposite in fact.

    The maximum memory for this notebook is 2GB. You can check it out here
     
  14. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    8,424
    Thanks Received:
    646
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When a PC is running out of available RAM it does start to transfer what is currently in RAM yet not needed at that point to the HDD in favour of the new data that needs to go into the RAM.

    Hence it does "thrash" the HDD as it was put,disk access will certainly increase while it does it.

    AFAIK If the OP is actually running Vista then it wont be able to use all of the 4gb of RAM anyway.

    Perhaps griffo7 can explain more about why he thinks that more RAM is needed & what he does to need it?

    All a mute point anyway after Igorians post. :D
     
  15. 2scoops0406

    2scoops0406

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,865
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, that neatly answers that then :) :) Please, please don't ignore me :eek:

    What's the point of having a swap file if you never run out of physical RAM :LOL:
     
  16. Softus

    Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,558
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2scoops0406's post was actually the opposite of twaddle - it's 100% accurate.

    If you don't understand how Windows using RAM and virtual memory, weseeyou, then you really shouldn't be advising people on the subject.
     
  17. Igorian

    Igorian

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    2,736
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agreed. Sorry if there was confusion there Scoops, my post wasn't directed at you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page