Sounds like a rip-off, what do you think?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A friend of mine had a couple of blokes (I won't give their nationality) paint the following parts of the front of his house: window frames, sills, guttering, the bits the guttering is attached to, the door frame and some tiles around the bay window. They were on site from 8:30am to 2:00pm and charged him £700. I thought it should be between £300 - £400, although that is a guess as I have no experience of paying for such work.
All the while they complained about the Lithuanians etc that were moving onto 'their' patch and taking all the work. Like it was their divine right!

Sponsored Links
did they rub down fill prime under coat and two top coats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think my answer to the problem is self explanetry ;)

Painters we've tried over the years have charged between £50 and £100 per man-day. (The one who charged the most was also the best, though I know this won't always be the case.)

Big-all is right. All they had time to do was slap a top coat on - and they probably didn't even brush the dirt off first! It was a bodge and a rip-off.

big-all said:
did they rub down fill prime under coat and two top coats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think my answer to the problem is self explanetry ;)

Too bl##dy right B-A !! ;)

Sponsored Links
pipme said:
Too bl##dy right B-A !! ;)

last time i flew with B-A it was awful!......... he kept on saying "you ain't getting me on no plane fool!"

oh and ditto with the 'touch up' point of view :cry:

I really can't believe that anyone would even consider paying £700 for two guys for half-a-days work.
And it is equally hard to believe that anyone would consider a proper paint job could be done in that time.