Start digging foundations before planning permission expires

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Newbie here.
We have planning permission granted for a two storey rear extension and single side extension to our three-bed semi. The permission expires December 2013.
Can I start digging the foundations for the side extension, get them approved by the building inspectorate, and, assuming we would not actually build the extension (due to 2nd baby arriving in December 2012) until after the permission expiry date comes about (Dec 2013), do I need to go back to apply for planning permission for the actual building?

Sorry if this is a bit of a dis-jointed question.
Regards, Rich.

Sponsored Links
As long as you make a start before planning expires your OK but you need to formally register you have started by submitting a Building Notice, paying the appropriate fee & having the foundation work inspected within 3 years of submission or the Building Notice itself will expire. Once you’ve done that there is no practical time limit at the moment. You can submit a notice just for the foundation work & make another submission for the rest of it later I believe but it will work out more expensive than a single submission for the whole extension.

I assume your going to lay the foundations & not just dig a trench & leave it exposed which will be dangerous. Watch out for any trees within 5m (loose them if you can) or the BI will make you go down far more than normal 1m & the he will advise when he inspects your open trench; 3m is not unheard of but way OTT IMO.

Thanks for the reply. Most useful.

Yes, I would be digging the trench and laying foundation so as not to be a danger.
There is a prunus tree within 1.5metres from said foundation (in my neighbours garden) so this might be an issue, not only to get the tree removed (or roots removed) with aboricultural officer involvement, but also from the perspective of potentially deep trench.