Steam Generator wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Wonder if someone can advise on how to utilise the low voltage light relay on an Amerec AT5 Stream generator controlled by a T100 Touch control

Aparently to can switch a light on with the controller. I have no experience working with relays.

The relay has 2 connections NO and COM See pic.
Also a link to the manual

There is no wiring guidance in the instructions and I am a bit lost

How does this set up work and how would you wire it

Thanks

http://www.amerec.com/Files.aspx?f_id=57965 View media item 80298

Sponsored Links
A relay is just a magnetically controlled switch, treat it like you would any other switch.

Thanks
Im just a little worried about putting 230 V on it and damaging the PCB

The relay says the following

16A 250 VAC
40A 250VAC
20A 30 VDC
1hp 125 VAC

Don't understand that

I have done a little drawing to make sure I have this right
View media item 80339
Im concerned because we and America have a different idea of low voltage

Appreciate any help on this

Thanks

Yep - low voltage in the UK is what we (simplistically) might think of as mains voltage; 110V or 240V is considered "low voltage".

A torch running at, say, 3V or 12V is ELV, Extra Low Voltage. Someone will likely clarify the specific crossover between ELV and LV shortly.

To your relay, though, it certainly looks like it will be happily switching 16A at 250V (although I do wonder why it reads 16A and 40A at 250V).

Do you have access to a multimeter? If so, turn it on and use your multimeter to confirm there is no voltage across the relay / switch outputs when it is not energised (controller set to "off") and again that there is no voltage across it when it is energised (controller set to "on").